Tuesday, May 4, 2010

South Carolina Lighthouses


The U.S. state of South Carolina has a relatively short and straight coastline facing southeast on the Atlantic Ocean, with Charleston as the principal harbor. Lighthouses survive at eight historic light stations in the state. Developers have restored two of the historic towers and also built several facsimile lighthouses. There is no statewide preservation group, and for the past decade preservation efforts have been focused on the critically endangered Morris Island Light. Several other lighthouses need attention, including Georgetown, Hunting Island, and especially Cape Romain.

All of the state's lighthouses are now in National Park Service, State of South Carolina, or private ownership. The U.S. Coast Guard continues to operate lights at only two of them, Georgetown and Sullivan's Island.

No comments: